You are here

Court Information

Congress organized Montana as one judicial district in 1889. It is the largest district in the federal court system in the lower 48 states. The District is made up of five geographical divisions and is served by three active Article III Judges, three Magistrate Judges, one part-time Magistrate Judge, two recalled Magistrate Judges, two Senior Judges, one Bankruptcy Judge, and 132 employees who work in the District Court, Bankrupty Court, and United States Probation Office.